2016 Texas Spring Turkey Hunting Season Dates

Rio grande turkey

The Texas 2016 spring turkey hunting season is literally only weeks away, and here is a breakdown of the dates by hunting zones.

South Zone

The spring turkey season kicks off in the 54 counties that make up the South Zone on Saturday, March 19 and runs through Sunday, May 1, 2016. The South Zone bag limit is 4 per season (fall and spring combined).

North Zone

The 101-county North Zone season begins on Saturday, April 2 and goes until Sunday, May 15, 2016. The North Zone bag limit is 4 per season (fall and spring combined).

Rio Grande Special 1 Turkey Bag Limit Zone

The Rio Grande Special 1 Turkey Bag Limit zone includes 10 specific counties and runs from Friday, April 1 through Saturday, April 30, 2016. This special one gobbler zone applies to the following counties:

  • Bastrop
  • Caldwell
  • Colorado
  • Fayette
  • Jackson
  • Lavaca
  • Lee
  • Matagorda
  • Milam
  • Wharton

Eastern Turkey Zone

The 15-county Eastern Turkey Zone season begins on Friday, April 15 and runs until Saturday, May 14, 2016. The Eastern Turkey Zone bag limit is 1 gobbler.

Youth-Only Weekends

Finally, there are several Youth-Only weekends in the South and North Zones that start in March:

South Zone: March 12-13 and May 7-8

North Zone: March 26-27 and May 21-22

Here is a Spring Zone map showing the counties that fall into each of the zone divisions:

2016 Texas Spring Turkey Season Zone Map


Remember that an Upland Game Bird Endorsement for your regular hunting license is required to hunt turkeys in Texas (though non-residents who purchase a Non-Resident Spring Turkey license are not required to buy the extra endorsement).